Tags

, , , , , , ,

Readers will note that I have been trying so hard this year (since January 1, 2013) to keep a particular commitment.  I figured that if I could post to my (other) blog every single day last year, I ought to be able to make it to mass every day as well.  Is that an example of a bizarre priority shift?  I don’t know.  All I do know is that my dad, for as long as I can remember, has been a daily mass goer and I would like to be one as well.  Truth is, throughout much of my life I have been a sporadic daily mass goer, if that makes sense.  At different times I have gone faithfully for months on end and then “fallen off the wagon” (save for Sundays when I always go).

The reality is, though, that it’s tough where I live to keep this commitment.  Ironically, though the Church is extremely vibrant in the Dallas, Texas area, She still doesn’t offer many close-by encounters with the Lord in terms of daily mass.  Parishes are spread far apart, mass schedules are largely limited to mornings.  As a teacher I appreciate the opportunity of a 5PM or even 5:30 evening mass.  Given my proximity to a decent Catholic University with an active chapel, I know that if I wake up too late for the 6:30 AM mass at the local Abbey church, I can go to the 5PM at the college.  The only problem is that this particular college does not have an evening mass on Friday’s.

So yesterday morning when I woke up just a tad on the late side I almost panicked that I would miss mass, essentially, for the first time all year.  But something came over me.  I think it was the grace of God giving me an infusion of the virtue of hope.  In addition to going to mass, I have been praying for the grace to go to mass.  I immediately thought about a lesson I had just taught my students on hope and how it is that virtue whereby we are enabled to trust that God will do all that He has promised.  So I said my morning offering and asked Our Lord to get me to mass at some point during the day.  I didn’t even freak out when my wife reminded me that most of the parishes in town were not having daily masses this week due to a priest convocation outside of the diocese.

Somehow, by the grace of God, last evening at 7PM I found myself in church trying my best to follow the Eucharistic liturgy in Spanish.  God has a sense of humor.

