Tags

, , , , , ,

I bet they didn’t think of this one.  Scratch that.  I bet they didn’t really care about this one.  But the fact remains that my prayer life will change Friday morning of next week.

You see, I have long been in the habit of praying the traditional Morning Offering when I wake up.  I try to make it the very first thing I do after silencing my phone-alarm.  Sometimes it’s a very bleary interpretation and often times I fall asleep again before the last words are out.  But this morning as I was praying this prayer I realized that I will have to omit the last line come next Friday morning.

O, Jesus, through the Immaculate Heart of Mary, I offer you all my prayers, works, joys, and sufferings of this day; in union with Holy Sacrifice of the Mass throughout the world, in reparation for all my sins, for the intentions of all our associates, and, in particular, for the intentions of our Holy Father for this month.

In addition to there being no Holy Father it will also be the start of a new month.  Way to go out on February 28th, Holy Father.  Thanks for that.  I’m positive I’m going to mess this one up for some time to come.  Maybe I’ll try to consciously change the line to “and for the swift election of a new pope so I can get back to old prayers.”

