Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This afternoon, right after the final bell had rung, one of my young ladies approached and asked me a question.  She’s a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (I did not know that about her) and she was going to be speaking at the regular Friday morning Scripture meeting on campus.

What amazed me was that her question was formulated so well.  I don’t mean that to sound like she’s a blithering idiot.  Simply, she’s one of the students who has never struck me as someone who’d be involved with a group like that.  I was proud of her for sharing with me her thoughts on the talk she would be giving and honored that she came to ask me for Scripture quotes about athletics.  Please say a prayer for her that her talk goes well.

My response, by the way, was to hit up Google and enter “Scripture quotes athletes”.  No joke.  I was pressed for time to pick up my daughter from ballet.  Truthfully, the passages I found were more than appropriate and I know she’ll make good use of them. The are:

At the time, all discipline seems a cause not for joy but for pain, yet later it brings the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who are trained by it.

So strengthen your drooping hands and your weak knees.

(Heb. 12:11-13)

and

…for, while physical training is of limited value, devotion is valuable in every respect, since it holds a promise of life both for the present and for the future.

(1 Tim. 4:8)

Well played, Google.

