Tags

, , , ,

As you can see by my header picture, the answer is clearly “The Infant of Prague”.

Duh.

In Roman Catholicism, this particular depiction of Jesus first dates to 17th century Prague (present-day Czech Republic).  The story is that a princess by the name of Polyxena von Lobkowicz had received the small statue of Christ as a wedding present and then gave the statue to a group of Carmelite nuns with whom she was friendly.  However, there is no accounting for why anyone would have sculpted a wax statue of an infant with the face of a pre-pubescent child and the body of a primordial dwarf.  Apparently it was the style.  Regardless, devotion to the child Jesus depicted by the statue spread.  Through the years many Catholic families the world over have kept Infant of Prague statues lovingly on display in their homes as a sign of their devotion to the tenderness of the God who chose to come among us as a helpless little child.

Beautiful and yet so odd (artistically speaking)

When I was a younger man my sister Bridget, three years younger than I, received a beautiful statue of Prague.  As you can tell by my omission of the “Infant of”, I became quite attached to the statue.  Bridget, Prague, and I (bizarre way to start of sentence but follow me here) had quite a time.  Let me explain.  I need to mention that her statue came not merely with the standard red priestly vestments and soldered on gold crown with which we are so familiar.  No, this Prague came with an ornate and removable crown.  It was removable because he also came with a complete set of vestments in all the proper liturgical colors — green for ordinary time (symbolizing hope), red for feasts of martyrs and the Passion (symbolizing blood), violet for Advent and Lent (symbolizing penitence), etc.  Unfortunately, Bridget sometimes neglected to change Prague’s “outfits” to match the Roman calendar.  Being a pious and pushy lad I was forced to take it upon myself to vest Prague as needed.  This greatly angered Bridget much to my obliviousness.  But as they say, it’s all fun and games until someone gets his hand slammed in the lid of an upright player piano by his baby sister for “*@&$ing with my &@*$ing statue)”.

When I got married, my mother found a smaller Prague in a Catholic gift shop.  This one didn’t have nearly the wardrobe of Bridget’s Prague.  Still, he manages to grace the top of that old upright piano which now sits in my living room.  It is, in fact, the same Prague you see in my banner.

The saints giving glory to the Lamb

Apart from the obvious rhyming nature of “Prague” and “blog” I figure there is no better patronage to invoke for this page.  Our Blessed Lord, as infant, as king, as savior is He whom prophets longed and hoped for and it is He whom the saints sought for their eternal reward.

Interested in learning more about Him and about them?

Then hit the damn subscribe button already!

